Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo


Czech Independence

The history of the Czech lands is very unique in that it has been under many different powers before it could be where it is today. It wasn’t until 1918 that these lands became independent under the name Czechoslovakia. Therefore, 2018 is a decadent year that marks the 100th year anniversary of Czech and Slovak independence. Not only that, but it also marks the 25th year anniversary of the existence of Czech Republic.

The year has just begun and the Czech Center New York has already held several events in celebration. Future events have already been planned and many more will be announced throughout the year. Come join us at the Bohemian National Hall during this grand year with our many exciting programs!

With different names being used, such as Czechoslovakia, Czech Republic, and Bohemia, it can become confusing what point in time some people might be referring to. Here are some brief explanations for why several titles have been used for these lands.

Bohemia (Čechy)
Bohemia is the latin name for what is known as Čechy, Bohême in French, Böhmen in German, Boemia in Italian, but its roots come from the Gallic tribe of Boii. After several centuries the Bohemia became the Duchy of Bohemia, succeeded by the Kingdom of Bohemia until 1918. This is often why Czech Republic is often referred as Bohemia. Not all Czechs are Bohemians, nevertheless our Czech Center is located in the Bohemian National Hall.

Austro-Hungarian Empire
The Bohemian Kingdom was also a part of the Habsburg Monarchy, which united the Austrian Empire, Kingdom of Hungary, and many others. It collapsed as a result of defeat during World War I.

Czechoslovakia (Československo)
When the Austro-Hungarian Empire collapsed, Czechoslovakia grew out of the post-war negotiations. Due to the Munich Agreement, consequences from World War II, and communist rule, Czechoslovakia went through different eras of control during those decades. The Velvet Revolution of 1989 ended this era and once again reinstated a democracy.

Czech Republic (Česká republika)
From the dissolution of Czechoslovakia on January 1st 1993, popularly called the “Velvet Divorce,” rose the Czech Republic and Slovakia. The Czech Republic is the state that we know today. It is a landlocked country in Central Europe with the Bohemian, Moravian, and Silesian lands held within it.

Czechia (Česko)
Czechia is the short name of Czech Republic in English as a translation of Česko. In 2016, it was made the official short-name by the United Nations. If you check on Google Maps, the Czech Republic region is now written as Czechia.