Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo


Nov 20, 2015 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM


An extraordinary concert of pieces by well renowned Czech composers, Bedřich Smetana, Antonín Dvořák, Leoš Janáček, and Bohuslav Martinů performed by the students.


Music and Dance faculty of Academy of Performing arts in Prague has joint Mannes College of Music at The New School for common performance of students of both schools. Pieces by Czech composers, who had direct impact on music environment in New York – Antonín Dvořák and Bohuslav Martinů, will be performed.

Antontín Dvořák, one of the most important world composers was a director on National Conservatory in New York in from 1892 to 1895, in “New world” he has composed his most famous symphoni no.9.

Bohuslav Martinů has also merged part of his life with USA, in 40s he was teaching at Mannes College of Music in New York. During the war he has composed his first three symphonies for best American orchestras, e.g. Boston Symphonic Orchestra.

The common concert of students of HAMU and Mannes College will be performed pieces also by other famed Czech composers Leoš Janáček and Ervin Schulhoff, as well as contemporary music by Otmar Mácha and American composer Missy Mazolli.


Bedřich Smetana:          
"From my Homeland" for violin and piano
Eva Schäferová - violin
Karel Vrtiška - piano

Antonín Dvořák:     
"Mazurek" for violin and piano
Jan Zrostlík - violin
Karel Vrtiška - piano

Leoš Janáček:  
 "On an overgrown path" for piano - selection
Matthew Griswold - piano

Missy Mazolli:                 
“Heartbreaker“ for piano
Mayumi Tsuchida-piano

"The Sound of Light" for flute,violin,trumpet,trombone and piano
Mayumi Tsuchida –piano

Ervín Schulhoff:       
Divertissement for oboe, clarinet and bassoon
Devin Hinzo - oboe
Sebastian Lambertz - clarinet
Joshua Hodge - bassoon


Ervín Schulhoff:             
Jazz Etudes for piano - selection
Ariela Bohrod-piano

Otmar Mácha:    
Variations for flute and piano
Jana Jarkovská - flute
Karel Vrtiška - piano

Bohuslav Martinů:        
Sonata for 2 violins and piano
Eva Schäferová - violin
Jan Zrostlík - violin
Karel Vrtiška - piano


Free admission.




321 East 73rd Street
NY 10021 New York
United States


Nov 20, 2015 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM


Czech Center

Remind me
This event has already started.