Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo


Sep 18, 2015 7:00 PM

Scelsi Revisited: HAAS, MURAIL, SCELSI

This concert, performed by New York’s brilliant Argento Ensemble will be the culmination of this year’s Moving Sounds Festival--'Liquid Architeture / Frozen Music'. The program includes Giacinto Scelsi’s famous violin concert Anahit, performed by violinist David Fulmer, pieces by Tristan Murail, as well as the US. Premiere of Georg Friedrich Haas’ Introduction und Transsonation, for which the composer will be present. BHN, Argento Ensemble, conductor Michel Galante


Argento Ensemble
Conductor: Michel Galante

Tristan MURAIL:
      Ma Soeur for solo viola
      Les Ruines Circulaire for violin and clarinet
      Feuilles a Travers les Cloches for violin, flute, piano and cello


Giacinto SCELSI:
      Anahit for chamber orchestra and solo violin

Georg Friedrich HAAS:
     Introduktion und Transsonation for chamber orchestra and tape

Born in 1953 in Graz, Austria, Georg Friedrich Haas is one of the most important contemporary composers today. His works were performed at festivals like Wien Modern (Vienna), Musikprotokoll (Graz), Witten, Huddersfield, Royaumont, Venice Biennale, Festival d'Automne (Paris), as well as at the Darmstädter Ferienkurse and the Salzburg Festival. Since 2005, Haas has lectured at the Hochschule in Basel, Switzerland; from Septmber 2013 on, Haas has been a Professor of Composition at Columbia University, New York.

Organized in collaboration with the Austrian Cultural Forum New York



321 East 73rd Street
NY 10021 New York
United States


Sep 18, 2015 7:00 PM


Czech Center

Remind me
This event has already started.