Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo


Jan 30, 2015 7:00 PM

Sounds of Serendipity

A concert dedicated to commemorate the Holocaust victims as part of the series curated by NY-based conductor and composer Peter Breiner featuring new and emerging composers and musicians.


Know where you came from and where you are going... (Mishna)

Curated by Peter Breiner, Sounds of Serendipity is a concert series featuring new and emerging composers and musicians who incorporate the latest musical developments while at the same time staying firmly rooted in traditions of Czech musical Culture.


Alon Nechushtan                               Yod
                                                               Darshan                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Shefa                                                                                   

                                                               Alon Nechushtan, piano
                                                               Ned Rothenberg, clarinet
                                                                Tomas Ulrich, cello


Erwin Schulhoff                                  Sonata for Solo Violin                                                         

                                                                I. Allegro con fuoco

                                                                II. Andante cantabile

                                                                III. Scherzo. Allegretto grazioso

                                                                IV. Finale. Allegro risoluto                                                     

                                                                Natasha Lipkina, violin


Xiren Wang                                          SINES                                                                                     

                                                                Sounds and Waves of Departure

                                                                [ Point of Depart ] 33.3 miles away from home

                                                                [ Invitation ] Whisper

                                                                [ Tomorrow, Yesterday ] Rail North

                                                                [ Of Birth and Death ] Sea                                                       

                                                                Mara McCann, voice & text

                                                                Xiren Wang, piano



John Corigliano                                     Caprice (from the Red Violin) (arr. F. Pogady)

Nicollo Paganini                                    Caprice no.16 (arr. F. Pogady)

Filip Pogady                                           Ballade                                                                                   

                                                                Filip Pogady, violin & tape 


Gregory Turek Bartholomew           Peregrination                                                                         

                                                                Nicholaus Tucker, bassoon

                                                                 Voici le Printemps                                                                  

                                                                Morrie Sherry, clarinet

                                                                Susan LaFever, horn

                                                                Nicholaus Tucker, bassoon


                                                                Voyageur Suite                                                                                                                                                                       1.  Quand J'étais Chez Mon Père                                                                
                                                                2. Le Retour du Mari Soldat

                                                                3. La Bergère Musette                                                           

                                                                NY Metropolitan Brass Quintet

                                                                Hugh Ash & Matt Gasiorowski, trumpets

                                                                Susan LaFever, horn

                                                                Timothy Thompson, trombone

                                                                Ben Vokits, tuba


Enriched with online presentations, the series will also lead thought provoking discussions and interviews about the future of classical music.

What had started as a series of house concerts is now an opportunity for young musicians and composers to present their efforts to the public. The series is the result of the many encounters Breiner has had with local musicians, both professionally and personally. Sounds of Serendipity concerts present an incredibly high level of musicianship and artistry.

More information about Sounds of Serendipity can be found online at soofser.com.

This concert is a part of the multimedia project "Shoah in Us" - more info here

Curated and introduced by Peter Breiner
Produced by Sasha Santiago and Czech Center New York



321 East 73rd Street
NY 10021 New York
United States


Jan 30, 2015 7:00 PM


Czech Centre

Remind me
This event has already started.