Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo


Dec 9, 2010 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

The College of New Jersey Orchestra

The Orchestra of the College of New Jersey will give their New York City debut, performing selections from two famous works by Czech and German composers in the beautiful acoustic of Bohemian National Hall.

Conductor Michel Galante will lead the orchestra in excerpts from Dvorak's celebrated Symphony #9 (from the New World), followed by Beethoven's idyllic Symphony #6 (Pastoral).

Michel Galante founded the Argento Chamber Ensemble in 2000, and has conducted in North America, Asia, Europe, and the Middle East, leading orchestras and ensembles including the Janáček Philharmonic, the Moscow Symphony Orchestra, the Manhattan Chamber Orchestra, the Columbia University Collegium Musicum Choir and Orchestra, the Ensemble Courage of Dresden, the Stony Brook Contemporary Chamber Players, Manhattan School of Music TACTUS Ensemble, the Desoff Choir, the Princeton University Chamber Choir, and ICE (the International Contemporary Ensemble). His awards include Fulbright, Hertz, and Mellon fellowships, as well as prizes from ASCAP and the Composer's Guild.

Recently awarded a DMA from Columbia University, where he worked with Tristan Murail, he also studied with Thea Musgrave, John Corigliano, and analysis with Carl Schachter and Charles Rosen. He recently completed a commission for the Kate Weare Dance Company, and is currently writing for the New York Philharmonic’s composer’s Studio, for the New York New Music Ensemble, and for Paris’ Ensemble Court-circuit. In Fall 2009, he began his appointment as artistic director of Austrian Cultural Forum’s Moving Sounds Festival, which pairs contemporary music with electronic performers and installation artists. He is a proponent of digital media as a means to create, produce and distribute music, and was one of twelve musicians picked to be a stagiere at IRCAM, France's leading electronic music institution.

The Symphony No. 9 in E Minor "From the New World", Op. 95, B. 178 (Czech: Symfonie č. 9 e moll „Z nového světa“), popularly known as the New World Symphony, was composed by Antonín Dvořák in 1893 during his visit to the United States from 1892 to 1895. It is by far his most popular symphony, and one of the most popular in the modern repertoire.

Symphony No. 6 in F major, Op. 68, also known as the Pastoral Symphony (German Pastoral-Sinfonie), is a symphony composed by Ludwig van Beethoven, and was completed in 1808. One of Beethoven's few works containing programmatic content the symphony was first performed in the Theater an der Wien on 22 December 1808 in a four hour concert called the Musikalische Akademie.


Dec 9, 2010 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM


Czech Centre

Remind me
This event has already started.